The message reads “The new Facebook/Meta rule starts tomorrow where they can use your photos. Don’t forget the deadline is today! This could be used in lawsuits against you. Everything you’ve ever posted is posted today – even messages that have been deleted. It doesn’t cost anything, just copy and post, better than regretting later.”
Fact Check/ Verification
“Third is regarding the deleted content being used. The deletion is not instant. It happens within 90 days, as the information resides in a server for compliance with legal obligations for data retention. If the content/information is licensed to third parties they may continue using it.”
The viral forward claiming that users can prevent Facebook from using their data by posting a ‘privacy note’ on their page is a hoax.
Result: Fabricated News